About the Cape Cod Genealogical Society

Founded in 1971…

The Cape Cod Genealogical Society acquires, catalogs, and preserves genealogical and historical information, emphasizing but not limited to Cape Cod.

The Society gathers and disseminates genealogical and historical information through a collection of diverse activities:

  • Monthly meetings and workshops throughout the year are open to both members and the public. Speakers from our Society, as well as invited nationally-known experts, present subjects related to genealogy and historical events.
  • Special Interest Groups (SIGs) provide members the opportunity to gather and share a similar research interest.
  • Periodic special events and research trips are offered throughout the year.

View the CCGS Bylaws

Board of Directors:

Our Board of Directors, consisting of up to 17 members, is made up of the five officers of the Society, the immediate past president, chairs of the seven Standing Committees, and four Directors-at-Large. Officers and Directors-at-Large are elected by the membership.

CCGS is a founding member of the New England Regional Genealogical Consortium (NERGC), which conducts multi-day genealogical conferences every two years within the New England area.

We are also institutional members of the Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS), the National Genealogical Society (NGS), New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), and the Cape and Islands Historical Association (CIHA).

To learn more, please read the CCGS Bylaws.

The Society is a 501(C)(3) tax exempt, non-profit organization. Gifts are tax deductible to the full extent of the law.

President: Walter Murphy
Vice-President: Brian O’Donnell
Treasurer: Noreen Cahalane
Recording Secretary: Judy Needham
Corresponding Secretary: Bebe Brock
Comm. Technology: Joan Frederici
Programs: Brian O’Donnell
Membership: JoAnne Makely
Education: Dave Martin
Publications: Carolyn Weiss
Library: Carol Magenau
Publicity: (open)
First term:
Pam Eaton & Kathy Kaldis
Second term:
Suzanne Walton & Judy Jones
Immediate Past President: Ralph Ryall

Standing Committees:

Chairs of the following committees are all members of the Board:

Membership collects dues, keeps a record of current and inactive members.

Programs plans monthly meetings and activities for the year.

Education plans and carries out classes and workshops, usually open to the public, related to genealogical education, on behalf of the Society.

Publications solicits, approves, and edits articles for Society publications.

Library oversees the policies and operation of the Cape Cod Genealogical Library, currently located at the Dennis Public Library, Hall Avenue, Dennisport.

Communication Technology is responsible for the development and use of current and future technology used by the Society, including websites and social media.

Publicity prepares notices and articles related to events of the Society and disseminates this information to both Society members and the media.

Officers of the Society:

Officers are elected annually and serve a term of one year’s duration, which may be renewed on an annual basis.

President is the Chief Executive Officer of the Society and presides over Board and general society meetings at which he or she is present.

Vice President assists the President and presides over meetings in the absence of the President. He/she often serves as the Program Chair.

Treasurer is the Chief Financial Officer of the Society.

Recording Secretary is the custodian of the records of the Society.

Corresponding Secretary conducts the correspondence of the Society.


There are four Directors-at-Large who serve a two-year term, can run for a maximum of two consecutive terms, and are elected by the membership at the Annual Meeting.

Their terms are office are staggered, with two Directors being elected each year.

NERGC 2021 logo